Chamber seeks nominations for 2018 Halleck Award
Wednesday, 24 January 2018 22:31

The Pulaski County Chamber of Commerce is seeking nominations for the 2018 Halleck Community Service Award.

The award will be presented at the Chamber's annual meeting/awards banquet this spring. Nominations will be accepted through Feb. 28.

Criteria for the Halleck Award is as follows:

  • The award recipient must be a resident of Pulaski County.
  • The recipient should have an identifiable and successful record of service to the community in a variety of public service endeavors.
  • The recipient may be male or female of any adult age.
  • The recipient need not be retired.
  • Posthumous awards are not given.

To nominate a person for the Halleck Award, please contact the Chamber for a nomination form by calling 574-242-2750, or emailing This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


About the Halleck Award

The Halleck award was first presented by the Chamber in 1979 to its namesake, the late Dr. Harold J. Halleck. Last year's recipient was Winamac attorney Daniel P. Murphy.

The Chamber notes that every town, every city is blessed with a handful of individuals who selflessly donate their time, energy, and hard work to make their community a better place for everyone to live. Such individuals often give this time and energy for years without the gratitude and recognition they deserve. 

In order to recognize such outstanding individuals, the Pulaski County Chamber of Commerce awards the H.J. Halleck Community Service Award to one deserving individual each year.


Halleck Award Recipients

Halleck Award recipients are:

1979 - Harold J. Halleck, M.D.

1980 - John Herbert Hoch

1981 - Fred Russell

1982 - Richard Dodd

1983 - James A. Freeman

1984 - Charles Byfield

1985 - R. Marshall Fritz

1986 - Janet Gorrell Meyer

1987 - Martin T. Barco

1988 - William R. Thompson, M.D.

1989 - William A. Russell

(award moved from autumn to spring)

1991 - C. Paul Riggs

1992 - Daniel Frain

1993 - Don & Dee Galbreath

1994 - Hank Kopkey

1995 - Thomas P. Shank

1996 - Bob Goble

1997 - Brooks Roudebush

1998 - Bill Sheppherd

1999 - Rita Mrozinski

2003 - Lawrence & Elaine Parish

2004 - Christine Smith

2005 - Alladean Clouser

2006 - Wayne & Mary Lou Bonnell

2007 - Don Good

2008 - Jay Kopkey

2009 - Judy Heater

2010 - Steve & Lin Morrison

2011 - Michael Shurn

2012- Tom Murray Sr.

2013 - David W. Barr

2014 - Jackie Frain

2015 - Judy Stinemetz

2016 - Charles & Darlene Mellon

2017 - Daniel P. Murphy