EPCS Board holds annual reorganization, discusses asphalt projects
Wednesday, 10 January 2018 22:35

WINAMAC - The Eastern Pulaski Community School Board held its reorganizational meeting Monday (Jan. 8), and also agreed to move forward with the process of selecting some asphalt/concreted projects needed on the school campus.

The board elected Terri Johnston as its president, Deke DeMarco as vice president, and Beth Ruff as secretary.

Angie Anspach was appointed corporation treasurer, and Diana Hanselman as deputy treasurer. Bonds were set at $50,000 for the treasurer, and $25,000 for the deputy treasurer. Other bonds were set at $25,000 for the high school extra curricular treasurer, $5,000 for the middle school extra curricular treasurer, $10,000 for the elementary school extra curricular treasurer, and $25,000 for the Lunch Express treasurer. The board also decided to add a $5,000 bond for administrators and a $25,000 bond for the athletic director

The board approved the 2018 school board meeting dates as presented.

Tim Murray was appointed the school board attorney.

As per statute, conflict of interest forms were prepared for those individuals who are affiliated with entities with which the school does business – board member Joe Cunningham and teachers Lori Cunningham, and Kelly Cunningham.


Asphalt/Concrete Project:

The school board renewed its discussion on options and areas on the school grounds being considered for asphalt or concrete projects. It was an item considered last spring, but dropped for further study.

Asphalt/concrete drawings were presented to the board, along with costs and the scope of the project. Base bids and alternate bids were discussed. There was a lengthy discussion on bidders and getting bids, dividing the project into portions, the timeline of the project, priority areas, general contractors, and project managers.

There was also discussion on bus pick up and drop off areas, handicapped parking, and a “safe zone” for pedestrians. The proposed timeline was discussed along with funding options. Board consensus was to move forward with the project and bring it back for further discussion at a meeting on Jan. 15.

Joe Briggs also gave the board an update on the chiller.

The school board also held a separate, annual school board of finance meeting.

Board member Joe Cunningham was elected president of the school board of finance, and Terri Johnson was elected secretary.

Superintendent Dan Foster provided a review of investments; however, the school corporation has none at this time.